Art, News 0

WORCESTERSHIRE OPEN STUDIOS 2017

Worcestershire Open Studios 2017
Date: 26 – 28 August 2017
Opening Times: 9am – 6pm

Discover a beautiful selection of art and craft created in Worcestershire this August bank holiday weekend when artists and collectives open their studios, homes and shared spaces for three days at 70 different locations across the county.

The third year of Worcestershire Open Studios once again provides a unique opportunity for you to venture into hidden creative spaces and learn more about the inspiration and creative processes behind artwork made in Worcestershire; directly from the artists themselves! Uncover fascinating techniques, unusual materials and enchanting artwork, right on your doorstep!

A stunningly diverse range of original arts and crafts made by over 200 Worcestershire artists will be available to see and buy, from drawing, painting, printmaking and photography to ceramics, jewellery, textiles and mixed media. With this year’s event being the largest to date, there’s even more exciting art on offer than ever before! From contemporary to traditional styles, 2D to 3D, as well as a mixture of media, there’s something to suit every taste.

To add to the experience and help you get involved, some participating artists are also offering refreshments, demonstrations and have a go sessions.

Entry to all venues is free, so why not pack your weekend full of creativity this bank holiday and discover parts of Worcestershire you’ve never seen before! Whether you’re an art lover, a budding young artist or have never set foot inside an art gallery, you’ll definitely receive a warm welcome.

To find out more and plan your trip visit > www.worcestershireopenstudios.org.uk

Guides containing details of all the venues, opening times and examples of some of the work that you will be able to see over the weekend will be available to download from the website or to pick up from libraries, Tourist Information Centres and other locations in July.

Worcestershire Open Studios 2017 is sponsored by Bevere Gallery and Malvern School of Art.

Anne Guest, one of a collection of artists exhibiting at the Worcester Arts Workshop, Worcester – “I use a technique called fumage. Traces of soot from the smoke of a candle are used to create images. I like the ephemeral quality and the unpredictability of this process. Concepts for my practice stem from many aspects of natural sciences and natural history with symbolism associated with vanitas and memento mori.

Sophie Symes, mixed media craft artist – “Having recently installed ‘Iris’ the purple shed workshop at the end of my garden, I wanted to use the space to share my latest ideas and creations with the public and give them a peek into my creative paradise. Visitors can expect to see where I work as a mixed media craft artist and jeweller, learn more about the processes I use and have the opportunity to buy some of my varied works.”


Joanne Winson, mixed media artist – “My recent digital drawings and prints have developed from my drawings, paintings and photographs. They rely on the use of colour and playful interpretation to draw the eye in to the work, only to discover a more serious content. During your visit you can browse the work in my studio and learn how to be creative with your iPad.”

Catherine Adams, painter, Malvern – “I am very lucky to live in West Malvern with the hills as a wonderful backdrop and place of inspiration. I love working in my garden studio with views of the garden and countryside. Come and see me at work, relax, enjoy the space, have tea and cake and enjoy the therapeutic benefits of paint and colour!

Paul Powis, painter – “I create work for galleries and publishers producing limited edition prints, book covers, calendars, greeting cards. My clients include Bridgeman Art Library, John Lewis, Volkswagen, Ikea and Harper Collins. Although my paintings are representational, they lean towards abstraction using constructional spatial devices. An open studio event such as this provides an invaluable connection to people who are interested in our work and their feedback is really important to us.

All Participating Artists:

A Crafty Moment – Handmade jewellery, www.acraftymoment.co.uk, Malvern
All Fired Up – Fused glass, www.facebook.com/allfiredupuk, Flyford Flavell
Andrew Judd – Printmaker and letterpress printer, Malvern
Anna Cummings – Painter, www.artgallery.co.uk/artist/anna_cumming, Colwall
Anne Guest – Drawing with smoke, www.anneguest.co.uk, Worcester
Architectural Impressions – Painter, www.architecturalimpressions.uk, Worcester
Birlingham Village Hall – A variety of artistic styles, Birlingham
Boult and McNabb – Painters, www.artgallery.co.uk/artist/fiona_boult_2, Malvern
Caroline Hall – Painter, www.carolinehallartprints.co.uk, Worcester
Catherine Adams – Painter, Malvern
Cherrie Mansfield – Painter, www.cherriemansfield.com, Worcester
Chris Haywood – Painter, www.saatchiart.com/account/profile/297407, Worcester
Chris Walker – Mixed media, Droitwich
Deb Stanley – Coloured pencils and pastels, www.debstanleyart.weebly.com, Malvern
Derek Cunningham – Painter, www.te2consult.com/painting.html, Malvern
Don and Steph Emmerich and Judith Taylor – Drawing, painting, pottery and needlecraft, Droitwich
Dora Williams – Painter, www.dorawilliamsfineart.com, Great Malvern
Elaine Williams – Mixed media, www.elainewilliamsfineart.co.uk, Worcester
Eugene Conway – Painter, www.eugeneconway.com, Colwall
Eva Walters – Cross stitch, jewellery and photography, Hanbury
Francesca Currie – Painter, www.francesca-currie.co.uk, Worcester
Frans Wesselman and Chris Russel – Painting, printmaking, stained glass and sculpture, www.fwstainedglass.com, Worcester
Gilly Hancock – Painter, www.gillyhancock.co.uk, Colwall
Great Witley Church Arts and Crafts Exhibition – Painters, embroiderers, wood turners, glass makers, jewellery makers and potters, www.greatwitleychurch.org.uk, Great Witley
Honeybourne Pottery – Ceramacists, www.honeybournepottery.co.uk, Evesham
Ian Gibson and Gloria Norman – Paintings, prints and ceramics, www.instagram.com/iangibsonart, Evesham
Iapetus Gallery – Arts, crafts, jewellery and gifts, www.iapetus.co.uk, Worcester
Jackie Cunliffe – Painter, www.jackiecunliffe.co.uk, Evesham
Janet and Richard Hayes-Hall – Printmaking and historic building conservation, www.tulipeli.com, Malvern
Janine and Greg Smith – Photographer and painter, www.throughthelookingglass.co.uk, www.gregcreates.com, Worcester
Jill Peer Topnots – Art pastels and textiles, www.jillpeertreatments.com, Malvern Wells
Jinney Ring Craft Centre – A group of crafts people, www.jinneyring.co.uk, Hanbury
Joanne Winson – Mixed media, Alvechurch
John Barrett – Illustrator, printmaker and painter, www.johnbarrett.es, Malvern
John Horton – Painter, www.johnhorton.co.uk, Crowle
John R Harris – Painter, www.harris-watercolours.com, Inkberrow
Julie Brand/Tigley Textiles – Textiles, www.tigleytextiles.co.uk, Birlingham
Kamala Todd and Jadu Sheridan – Paintings, mixed media and jewellery, www.facebook.com/Kamalatoddart and www.jadusheridan.wixsite.com/jadusheridanart, Malvern Link
Kestrel Gallery and Studio – Worcester artists and makers, www.kestrelgalleryandstudio.com, Worcester
Lighthouse Glass – Lampwork artist and jewellery maker, www.lighthouseglass.co.uk, Redditch
Loom with a View – Handloom weaving, Worcester
Louise Goult, Pete Tibble and June Moore – Textiles, metalwork and laser cut crafts, www.lasercutcrafts, www.facebook.com/LouiseGoultTextiles and www.facebook.com/CopperheadRoadUK, Worcester
Louise Pilditch – Painter, www.louisepilditch.co.uk, Welland
Lyttelton Framing Gallery – Picture framer and gallery, www.lytteltonframing.com, Malvern
Maggie Hobbs – Mixed media, www.facebook.com/Maggie-Hobbs-Artist, Droitwich
Malvern School of Art Tutors – Paintings, stained glass, calligraphy, jewellery, printmaking and bookbinding, www.warwickshire.ac.uk/colleges/malvern_hills_college.aspx, Malvern
Mark Brayley – Jeweller, www.markanthonybrayley.co.uk, Malvern
Martin Addison – Photographer, www.martinanddoreen.co.uk, Worcester
Michael Salt – Painter, www.michaelsalt.co.uk, Hanbury
Moorlands Artists – Painters, Malvern
Nicola Currie – Painter, www.nicolacurrie.co.uk, Worcester
Pat King – Painter and printmaker, www.patkingstudio.com, Ombersley
Paul Powis – Painter, www.powishayward.co.uk, Worcester
Pauline Reed – Painter, Droitwich
Penny Vere – Painter, www.artistsandillustrators.co.uk/Penny-Vere, Malvern
Portfolio 17 – Members of the Stone Fine Art School, painting, textiles, mixed media, www.stonefineart.co.uk, Worcester
Rachel Kay Hall – Painter, www.rachelkayhall.co.uk,Worcester
Richard Nicholls – Photographer, www.richardnicholls.co.uk, Worcester
Rupert Brakspear – Ceramacist, www.rbrakspear.com, Worcester
Sally Anne Morgan – Painter and printmaker, www.sallyannemorgan.co.uk, Worcester
Sara Hayward – Painter, www.powishayward.co.uk, Worcester
Sewing at the Button Box – Textiles, www.facebook.com/sewingatthebuttonbox.co.uk, Worcester
Smile Art Studio – Sculpture, paintings and graphics, Evesham
Sophie Sorrella – Painting, printmaking and ceramics, www.sophiesorella.com, Worcester
Sophie Symes – Mixed media, www.sophiesymes.com, Worcester
St Peter’s Printmakers and Friends – Printmaking, photography and contemporary crafts, Malvern
Steve Letchford – Painter, www.steveletchford.com, Leigh Sinton
Stone Fine Art – Painting, sculpture and prints, www.stonefineart.co.uk, Worcester
Sue Firmin – Painter, www.suefirmin.co.uk, Lower Broadheath
The Art Pad – Fused Glass, www.theartpad.co.uk, Evesham
Trudi Foggo – Mixed media, www.trudifoggo.co.uk, Malvern
Valerie Briggs – Painter, www.valeriebriggs.co.uk, Worcester
Wend Britton – Pastels and pencil drawing, Leigh Sinton
Worcester Arts Workshop – An exhibition of printmaking, photographing and ceramics, www.emmatrimblepics.com,www.prettypinkpumpkin.blogspot.co.uk, Worcester
Worcestershire Guild – Members of the guild, ceramics, jewellery, furniture, basketware, textiles and printmaking, www.wgdc.org.uk, Worcester

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a reply